top of page

Two Days In Hong Kong


In the midst of all else that was going on (moving, wedding planning, transferring bases for work), my Auntie Phyllis and cousin Dominic wanted to go on an Asian Adventure before going back to work/school. I talked myself out of going because I had so many other things going on that I thought it wouldn't be good timing for me. However, after some pretty convincing travel vlogs/blogs that Dominic sent me, I was intrigued so much that I knew I would feel awful if I missed out! So with one day of prep, I packed my bags Thursday night and jetted off the following morning to meet them. I flew from Atlanta to Seattle with a 3 hour layover and then flew from Seattle to Hong Kong, totaling about 22 hours of travel! My longest combination of flights EVER, but surprisingly it went by faster than I expected.

So I came up with a little to-do list of my favorite things for any of those that are interested in going to Hong Kong or in the middle of planning a trip there!

Must Do Items

1. Hong Kong has an excellent transit system; We purchased an unlimited 3-day MTR card at the airport for $45 USD. They also reimburse $5 USD for returning the card back to them at the end of your trip.

2. I went on the safe side and withdrew about $450 HKD ($65 USD) for anything that required cash only. You can use your card for most things here so I never needed more cash than that.

3. Victoria's Peak: There is a tram that goes up with amazing 360 degree views of Hong Kong from The SkyView Terrace!!! *ALERT* Can not skip out on doing this! Get there when it opens to skip the long lines. #TrustMe There are also tons of shops and restaurants to enjoy. Get some super yummy bubble tea to cool off if you're going in the hot season like we did.

4. Eat Dim Sum: You can go anywhere and enjoy the authenticity of Chinese cuisine. If you're a foodie like me; you will fall in LOVE!

5. Ngong Ping 360 is the cable car to go to see Big Buddha and this is one of my favorite parts of the entire trip for sure! It's $24 USD for a roundtrip ride and its the easiest and an incredibly scenic way to go. *Keep in mind there are 268 steps to the top so bring comfy shoes!*

6. Temple Street Market has tons of things to buy. I bought the majority of my souvenirs from here: decorative bowls for our kitchen, tea + tea set for my parents, electronic knick knacks, and theres so much more there. They are flexible on prices so if you feel something is overpriced, negotiate ;)

Don't forget to bring:

Camera, Light Jacket, Umbrella

REALLY GOOD Walking Shoes!

There are so many things to do in Hong Kong. I hope you enjoyed this itinerary I created to help you on a future trip there! If you have any questions or recommendations, please don't hesitate to leave a comment below. I would love some of your feedback!

Here's the vlog from my channel!

bottom of page