top of page

8 Things you must know about Puerto Vallarta

If you're like me then the familiar cities in Mexico were Cancun, Cabo, and maybe even Cozumel. I took a family trip recently to Playa del Carmen, which is a city about 30 minutes outside of Cancun, and looked around for wedding sites while there. However, my fiance's parents recommended we visit the other side of Mexico, and go to Puerto Vallarta, before making our final decision because they thought it would be an even more perfect fit for us!

I have since taken two trips to PV with my mom to visit the wedding site, and get a feel for the city. PV is famous for their colorful sunsets, and its overall authenticity and charm. I'm SOOO happy I went to visit  because it was then that I knew we had to get married here. For those like me that had maybe only heard of the city before, but didn't know much else, I created a list of what to do, expect and what not to do while in PV :) 

SN: I went shopping at the Mall of America on a layover the weekend before this trip :)

1. Airport Arrival (PVR): Either arrange your transportation before you arrive or wait until you are outside of the airport. After you walk outside of customs and security, you will be approached by all kinds of people that "want to arrange your hotel taxi ride". What they are really trying to do is sell you a time share. They will offer you all types of excursion deals, free taxi arrangements, etc. in exchange for you to see a "short" time share presentation. This presentation will actually take the majority of your day away so unless you are up for that, just continue past them and say you already have taxi arrangements- so don't even bother to share the name of your hotel. You will then be met by actual transportation companies directly outside of the airport that will take you to the hotel or wherever you need to go. 

2. Visit the Malecon: walk along the beach boardwalk area. It's filled with different restaurants and shops that you can get lost in for hours. My personal favorite was a restaurant off of the most beautiful colorful-filled street called 'Mi Pueblito Restaurante' apart of the Playa Los Arcos hotel. Its the best restaurant we found. The vibe, waiter staff, and food was all amazing (and cheap)! My mom and I had their BOGO lunch special which was two drinks each, along with our two entree meals for $23 including gratuity! Can't beat it!

4. If you're big on fishing then this city is for you as it is filled with fishing activities. It's also very common to see a lot of whale/dolphin watching tours, and plenty of water sports. (The best time to watch whales and dolphins is early Dec-late March). You can always grab a beach towel

and soak up some sun too! If you're not a sun lover like me, there are tons of shaded benches along the boardwalk where you can people watch from.

5. Rhythms of the Night: Hands down my favorite live dinner & performance experience. You meet at the port and take an hour long ferry boat ride over to a remote bay area. Upon arrival you will notice the entire land has no electricity, and it is only lit up with gas lamps and candlelights.

You can enjoy dinner, and drinks as the sun sets along the sea coast. There are live performers walking throughout the land to charm you with beautiful music.

After your (all you can eat) sunset dinner, there is a live performance at the theatre. You will then be seated for one of the best shows of your life. Picture 'Cirque de Soleil' level talent with a Mayan/Mexican flair. It's literally one of the best shows I've ever seen! The dinner and show costs about $150 for the entire experience, and it is definitely money well spent.

After the show you will take the boat ride back over to the port (free drinks onboard) and the crew does really cute impersonation performances. Picture Elvis, Michael Jackson, and Prince, but with a Mexican twist. :)

6. Costa Sur Resort and Spa: Our wedding resort :) I love this hotel. Its a small boutique resort about 10 minutes outside of downtown PVR. Every single room is built with amazing ocean and mountain-side views. You can leave your balcony door open and listen to the ocean waves all day and night.

The staff is extremely friendly, and you are always greeted with a warm smile. I am a big foodie, so it makes me very happy that they serve amazing food as well. Some of my personal favorites are the seafood dinners, the mexican chicken soup, and I really enjoy their $10 breakfast buffet- I'm especially in love with their chicken chilaquiles!

Our wedding will have everything from fireworks to a photo-booth. I was able to create my dream wedding with the help of my amazing wedding planner, Mabel. :)

-insert a super excited and laughing emoji (!!!)

7. Downtown PVR: Last, but not least. Walk downtown. Just get lost and venture all around. The cobblestone filled streets are just gorgeous to look at. The people are extremely friendly everywhere you go. There are all types of restaurants and museums to find antique artwork in. The bus system is pretty advance and only costs 5 pesos which is the equivalent to 25 cent (USD)! Taxis are also always available if crowded buses aren't your thing. I was just recently made aware that there is also Uber now! :)  

8. Overall PVR is one of the safest, most beautiful places I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. I'm so excited to bring my family and friends to this special gem. I have now been twice so far and happily going back again for our super special day! 

I hope this article helps paint a picture of one of my favorite cities in the world. Feel free to comment with your questions or comments below. I would love to hear your feedback! Also please subscribe to receive new updates. 

xoxo

- Aamirah

Check out my VLOG here:

Here are some more pics before you go. :)

bottom of page